Franz is your friend!

Discussion in 'Free and Open Source Software' started by twhiting9275, Jan 10, 2018.

1. twhiting9275

twhiting9275 Member

Jan 10, 2018
    Internet Extraordinaire
    Somewhere, out there
    Who here remembers Trillian? Back in the day, there was this awesome app that could connect everything (and I mean, everything). ICQ, AIM, Yahoo, Messenger, Skype, Jabber, you name it. While it was good, development suddenly just stopped (probably because the use of those apps pretty much died down).

I ran across an app, named Franz a couple months back that attempts to do the same, except for the age that we're living in (face it, ICQ, AIM, etc are pretty much dead). You can use this little gem to connect to (almost) everything... I'm currently using it for

• Slack
    • Hipchat
    • Stride
    • Tawk.to
    • LinkedIn
    • Pushbullet
    • Twitch
    • Telegram
    • Messenger

And that's just the beginning. I'm just getting started with this app, and adding more services daily, as I find that this app supports them (just added my Linkedin connection today)

This app is a times aver, at least for me. If you use any of the above services, well, you owe it to yourself to give Franz a shot. This app is beyond awesome!

Note:
    I am not affiliated in any way with Franz, or paid to make the above statement. Hell, I typically stay away from posting things that look like 'ads', but I just love sharing this product everywhere I can :)

2. KMyers

KMyers Administrator
    Staff Member

Dec 28, 2017
    Male
    South Florida
    I have actually tested this out in the past and liked it. I really wish they had an Android version as well - or even better, a self hosted Web App as I like to self-host things

3. lakridserne

lakridserne New Member

Dec 31, 2017
    Male
    Agreed, Trillian was really great, maybe I should give Franz a try.

4. twhiting9275

twhiting9275 Member

Jan 10, 2018
    Internet Extraordinaire
    Somewhere, out there